About Us

Committees & Sub-Committees

The Society has a number of committees and sub-committees to assist with operational and developmental activities of the Society. The main committees include:

Abstract Review Committee

The Abstract Review Committee (ARC) comprises a chairperson and four other financial ANZSRS members who have previously had their own abstract(s) appraised and presented at our own and/or other Annual Scientific Meetings (ASM). The Chair is a senior member of the society appointed by ANZSRS Scientific & Conference Committee (SCC). The remainder of the committee is selected by the ARC Chair to ensure an appropriate breadth of scientific and research knowledge and expertise, and ratified by the SCC. The committee is responsible for review of abstracts for one ASM. The Committee reports to the SCC.

The review process is confidential and is also intended to be educational. A maximum of two of the ARC members will be first-time reviewers, and along with the rest of the committee, they will also be subject to the learning process. The committee has an overall responsibility to maintain a high standard in of scientific integrity of abstracts accepted for presentation at the ASM.

Scientific & Conference Committee

The Scientific & Conference Committee (SCC) is a highly valued and active committee with broad ranging responsibilities. It comprises a chairperson, approved by the Board and four other financial ANZSRS members. Members include the immediate past Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) Local Organising Committee (LOC) Chair, the current LOC Chair and the upcoming LOC Chair. In addition, there is a Member-at –Large who provides input to the group and substitutes as Chair in the SCC Chair’s absence. Each member holds a three year term. The Committee reports to the Board via the Director holding the Conference and Research Portfolio.

The SCC is responsible for maintaining continuity for ASM activities, providing direction to LOC for the content and speakers for the ASM, appointing Abstract Review Panel Chair, providing stabilisation of scientific and research activities of the Society, acting to increase the role that laboratory-based research plays within the Society, improving the knowledge and skills of Society members, providing advice to individual Society members and regions on presentation and publication of scientific work, representing ANZSRS on the TSANZSRS ASM Governance Committee (the joint conference committee of the ANZSRS, TSANZ and conference administrator), coordinating and overseeing the ANZSRS Jeff Pretto Memorial Research Grant,  and, in conjunction with the Board, liaising with external bodies on research activities of mutual interest.

The committee as at May 2023 is:

Lauren Bussell


  • Audrey Quinlan , Past LOC Chair (2023 ASM)
  • Dan Barnes, Current LOC Co-Chair (2024 ASM)
  • Vacant, Upcoming LOC Chair (2025 ASM)
  • Tamara Blake, Member at Large 

Annual Scientific Meeting Local Organising Committee

The Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) is a pivotal committee in the operation and development of the content for the ASM. It is responsible for the development of the ASM scientific and social program for an assigned year. It provides a great opportunity for Society members to be creative and hone their organisational skills while developing relationships both within and between societies. The committee comprises an LOC Chair, approved by the Scientific & Conference Committee (SCC) and ratified by the Board. The LOC is generally assembled by the LOC Chair from Society members within the region where the ASM is being organised. This is usually the region that the ASM is held however this is not always the case. ASMs are rotated across regions to ensure no single region is asked to organise a conference too frequently. The LOC Chair holds a position on the SCC for three years and a position on the TSANZSRS ASM Governance Committee for one year to ensure continuity of ASM management.

In addition to organising the scientific and social program for the ASM, the LOC Chair and his/her LOC is also responsible for calling planning meetings of the LOC and maintaining records, liaising with potential speakers, liaising with conference administrators, providing reports and escalating relevant issues to the Board and SCC as required, actively participating in review of abstract submission, registration and website design and delivering the meeting within the designated budget.

Professional Standards Committee (PSC)

Responsible for the development, implementation and review of documentation and assessment tools relating to professional standards and competencies. A sub-group of the PSC is also responsible for review of CRFS examination questions in conjunction with the CRFS coordinator.

CRFS Exam Review Committee

The Certified Respiratory Function Scientist (CRFS) Exam Review Committee is responsible for the review of the current CRFS study guide and exam questions. They review the exam question bank, creating new questions as needed and determine the appropriate weighting of topics within the exam. The committee has a minimum of five members, with two membership positions held by the CRFS coordinators. All members of the committee hold the CRFS and possess a thorough knowledge of respiratory physiology. CRFS Exam Review Committee members are appointed by the Board and have extensive experience (>10 years) in respiratory function testing having acted in roles that include training/supervising staff.

The committee as at May 2023 is:


  • Brendan Kennedy (CRFS Coordinator)
  • Kevin Elyett (CRFS Coordinator)
  • Emma Smith, Paul Finlay, Leigh Seccombe (Chair)

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee comprises of three voting members of the ANZSRS (of which one is appointed Chair) who have previously been a past ANZSRS President/Board member or senior member who previously held an ANZSRS office position, has intimate knowledge of the ANZSRS constitution or is a senior ANZSRS member who possess business acumen.

The Governance Committee is responsible for the following:

  • Monitor the Board’s due diligence as it relates to governance and recommend actions.
  • Monitor effectiveness of governance policies 
  • Recommend changes and/or new policies for Board action.
  • Recommend governance standards for Board and committee operations.
  • Monitor adherence to the stated standards 
  • Recommend any changes to Board structure ensuring the Board of directors fulfils its legal and moral obligations.
  • Review and provide advice on issues the Board raises in terms of governance and/or historical questions relating to ANZSRS Ltd.

Current Chair:
David Robiony-Rogers

Jarrod Warner